Life’s Trials

This week Tony and I are in Detroit, where we both grew up.  As much as we love being here, it is unfortunate circumstances that brought us here.  Tony’s father passed away suddenly and unexpectedly over the weekend. 

We found out about the death on Monday morning.  By Wednesday at noon we were in Detroit submerged in funeral arrangements.   Emotions have been overwhelming.  We are running on adrenaline and caffeine.  Although incredibly unhealthy, it’s seems to be all that we can do to keep going right now. 

I didn’t get a chance to know my father in law.  He struggled with his own issues in life and my husband decided that we needed a little distance.   I’m sad because my husband is sad.  I am hurting for my husband, but with so much to do, we have to keep going. 

In the last 48 hours, I have slept about 5 hours.  I have had more coffee then I normally drink in a month.  My eating schedule is about the only aspect of life I can control right now.  We are running from one side of town to the other side all day.  Luckily, I had the wherewithal to make sure I packed healthy snacks so that I am not stopping at fast food when I am hungry. 

I haven’t had time to get to the gym, so I have had to be creative with my exercise.  On the ride here, Tony and I would stop at rest stops for a brisk walk and lunges.  There isn’t time for much else right now. 

I am exhausted.  Tony is exhausted.  We are running on empty, but sometimes that’s just how life goes.  I know that this is a temporary situation and we will get back to normal shortly.  In the meantime, I have to remember that I am committed to a healthy life and have to be prepared to improvise when life throws curveballs.

Leave a Reply

