The Queen of Advice

You know who gives great advice?

Me.

I’m not usually one to toot my own horn, but toot toot!!

The other day, a friend was struggling with how to convince someone else to eat better.  My words of wisdom were “food was created for survival, but has been commercialized into a means of pleasure.  Use food for survival and not for pleasure.” 

Pretty sound advice, right?   There was only one small problem.  I don’t take my own advice.  I use food for everything but survival.  I use it when I am happy, sad, or just to celebrate Tuesday.  My birthday includes dinner out and cake.  My anniversary is the same story.  Christmas, Thanksgiving, Easter, Halloween, Valentine’s Day…all revolve around food.    I have bought into the commercialization of food.  That somehow food and pleasure go hand in hand.

In reality, food has brought me to 309 pounds.  And there is nothing pleasurable about that.

(Side note: I totally hope this is the week that my trainer doesn’t read my blog…if she is though, HI LISA!!  Feel free to skip this next paragraph…thanks!!)

My other great advice was that losing weight is not hard.  All that one needs to do is eat right, exercise daily, get eight hours of sleep and drink plenty of water.  Isn’t that awesome advice??  I KNOW!!  This is a total “do as I say and not as I do” situation.  I do get eight hours of sleep.  And I eat pretty well. I drink A LOT of water, but truth be told, I have not been as faithful to my workouts as I need to be.  I know I should be and I want to be, but (fill in random excuse here).

The weirdest part is that I love working out.  I love being at the gym.  I love the atmosphere.  I love the feeling of my body getting leaner and stronger.  I love turning on the treadmill or the stepper and tuning out the world.  For that 45 minutes (I mean SIXTY minutes if Lisa is still reading this), I don’t have to answer questions or phone calls.   It is just the treadmill, an episode of COPS and me.  It’s so peaceful and relaxing. 

Why won’t I take my own advice?  If it’s so easy, then why don’t I do it?  I am going to guess that it is because I am my own worst enemy at times.  I set myself up to fail.  It’s a personality flaw that I have spent a lot of time trying to overcome.  I can hear the wise works of Dr. Phil, “we create what we fear”.  I am terrified of failing in this competition.  I am scared of getting on the scale and seeing a gain instead of a loss.  I am just scared.  My fear just encourages my bad behavior, because I comfort my fear with food.  Not salad type food, no.  It’s usually ice cream type food. 

I am working very hard at squashing this fear.  I face it daily.  Every choice I make is going to encourage the life I want, or feed the lifestyle I have.  My food choices, my bed time, my workout schedule all encourage the outcome of this competition and of my life. 

Still, beneath the overpowering fear, I can hear the faint whisper of my lovely trainer “take one day at a time”.  I am trying to take this challenge one day at a time.  Every day I get up and tell myself that the only choices that matter are the ones that I am making today.  Today, I have to make the choice to eat right.  Today, I have to make the choice to go to the gym and get in a workout that challenges me.  Today, I have to make sure I am drinking plenty of water.  Today, I have to go to bed at a reasonable hour.   All I can control is what I do today. 

Taking one day at a time is really great advice.  She must have learned that from me.

1 Comment »

  1. trevorsawyer Said:

    You give such great advice. Thank you so much for being my friend.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

