Thankful For Boundaries

 It’s been a tough week to say the least.  A week that has made me re-evaluate a lot of my life and my choices. 

It started with a ten hour car ride to Michigan for my brother’s wedding.  Ten hours in the car gave me a lot of time to think.  I thought about this challenge and my constant frustration with PCOS.  I thought about creating a magic pill that instantly made me the size I want to be.  I thought about how nice it will be when I don’t have to worry about my weight anymore. 

I started thinking about my priorities in life.  It made me realize that I have this problem of putting everyone else’s needs before my own.  I have never made myself a priority.  There is always someone else that needs me more than I need me.  My thinking led me to the realization that my life is in need of serious boundaries.

I need boundaries.  I tend to get caught up in helping people and end up being the one that pays the price for it.  I just can’t do that anymore.  I need to put myself and my family first.  I need to make sure that our physical and emotional needs are met before I try to help anyone else.

I also had time to think about what I am grateful for.  I have been blessed.  Truly.  I spent time thinking about the ways in which God has blessed my life.  I thought about the wonderful husband He brought to me that loves me more than I think I will ever understand.  I am thankful for my dogs that have taught me the physical meaning of unconditional love.  I am thankful that I am surrounded by incredible friends that provide words of advice or encouragement whenever I need it. 

It was the Grace of God that brought me to this challenge and I am so thankful.  This challenge has provided me with an amazing trainer who has already taught me so much.  I have also met other competitors that are now considered friends.  I am beyond thankful for the opportunity to be a better me. 

As I work to get in better shape, I realized that I am thankful for who I am regardless of the size of clothes I wear.  I am glad that I know how to care about the feelings of those that I love.  I am grateful for the ability to say I am sorry when an apology is needed.  I am thankful that the people that I love know beyond a shadow of a doubt that I love them. 

This challenge has been more than a weight loss journey.  It’s has been more of a self discovery.   Every chance I have to get on a treadmill and tune out the world, also gives me a chance to tune into myself.  I have learned a lot about myself.  I have learned that I am a lot stronger physically and mentally than I give myself credit for. 

Most importantly, I have learned that I really like who I am.

1 Comment »

  1. Tracey Poteete Said:

    Just read your latest blog on boundaries. Realizing you are worth it and that you like who you are is a BIG step in fulfilling your weight loss goal or any goal for that matter. Hold your head high and SMILE to the world because You Are Worth It! Having support from your husband is a tremendous asset and one I know you are thankful for You are so blessed to have his love and support.
    Wishing you a great week! Keep moving foward!

    Tracey P


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

