Superhero Training

Are we already at the end of the challenge?  I can’t believe it!  I remember thinking in January that I had all the time in the world.  Now, here I am 48 hours away from my final weigh in. 

At the beginning of this challenge, we were asked what we wanted to accomplish.  My answer has always been that I want to be stronger.  I want to be on the road to being the best me possible.  In my opinion, I have accomplished my goal.  I am stronger.  A lot stronger!  I’m sure I am at least borderline superhero strong.  I’m just saying….I have got to be close.

I wanted to lose weight in this challenge.  And I have.  The number on the scale now is less than it was on Day One of the challenge.  That tells me that I am headed in the right direction.  I still have a little way to go on this road, but at least now I am on the right road!!

I’ve learned more about PCOS and the challenges associated with it.  Some of the symptoms attempted to kick my butt!  In the end, I fought with all that was in me and was able to put up a good fight.  One of my weapons of choice was knowledge.  I had to first accept that PCOS was a lifelong condition and that there was not a pill that would fix this for me.  Next, I had to gain as much knowledge as I could.  I joined support groups and read books, lots of books.  It wasn’t until last week that I learned that one of the worst foods for me is ketchup.  I love ketchup!  I had no idea it wasn’t good for me.  With each piece of knowledge that I gain, I am able to fight off one more symptom or side affect.   

I do run with my own little group of superheroes.  They really got me through this challenge.  My husband, Tony, has gone through every step, from my excitement at the lower numbers on the scale to my wrath when I decreased my carb intake too much.  He has joined the gym with me.  He has eaten Tofu.  He has changed a lot of his eating habits and is more conscious of his body and what it needs.  He has also been my support.  He listens to my frustrations.  He encourages me.  He tells me every day that I am beautiful.  I don’t know what I would do without his love and support on this journey. 

My superhero friends, family and co-workers at the City of Franklin have been so supportive.  I have a lot of eyes watching my every move.  I have people constantly checking on my progress and keeping me honest!  Thank you all so much!!

The other challengers are part of my superhero group.  While we are all competing for a prize, I want to see them do well.  They are incredible people who deserve happiness in their lives as much as I do.  I am grateful to have had the opportunity to know each of them.

My superhero group also includes everyone at Channel 4 that worked with us, especially Jenny, Mark and Christy.  From schedule changes to missing video blogs, you all were amazing to work with!  Thank you for your patience, and thank you for not showing me crying on TV.  Crying on television would have been very un-superhero of me!!

 The staff at the Franklin Athletic Club are definitely superheroes to me.  They have been wonderful to work with! They have been encouraging, supportive and excited for me on this journey.  Especially Aaron Kirchner, who will forever have the superhero name of “Alpha Dog”. 

The second day of the challenge, we were able to get a tour of the athletic club that we will be working out at, whether it was Franklin, Murfreesboro or Nashville.  That was when we were able to meet the real superhero, our trainer Lisa Kirchner (code name: Ninja).  I told Lisa that day that if she was like Jillian Michaels, I would mentally check out of the competition.  While I think that Jillian is awesome at what she does, she isn’t what I would want to work with.  I beat myself up enough; I don’t need someone to help me with that!  Lisa told me right away that she wasn’t like that.  She would tell me what to do and it was up to me whether I would do it or not. 

Not only has Lisa shared her extensive knowledge with us, she has sort of become the Subway Get Fit Challenge Psychologist.  Whenever we feel like we have run into a brick wall, Lisa has been right there with the most encouraging words.  She celebrates our little victories.  She gets excited when she sees all of the changes.  She has joined us for classes just so we would try them.  She has walked a 5k with us.  She has been to a Weight Watchers meeting.  She has done it all.  She is a phenomenal trainer and an amazing person.  And the most kick-butt Ninja around!!

Finally, rounding out my superhero group is the Subway 6 inch turkey breast on wheat with no cheese and all the veggies.  That sandwich has gotten me through many “I want a cheeseburger” situations.  The 6 inch turkey breast has saved me from wasted calories.  I never had to wonder what would be good to have for lunch.  Subway was always there!

Thank you to everyone that has walked with me on this journey.  Each step was made easier by your support and encouragement.

Leave a Reply

