Got To Brag A Little

My poor Kash has had quite a week.  He was back into the hospital to get more stitches after another fight with Layla.  He has been confined to a room while we tried desperately to find another home for Layla. 

Yesterday was his first day of freedom.  He had free reign of the house since Layla is now with her new family.  He was out all day while I was at school and Tony was at work. 

I got home around 4:00, Kash greeted me at the door.  He was really antsy, like he couldn’t stand still.  I thought he needed to go outside, so I started walking to the backdoor.  I called for Joie.  She didn’t come to me.  I called again for her, she still didn’t come to me.  I walked to the back of the house and let Kash outside.  He took about 2 steps and turned around.  He started barking and whining to come inside, which is totally out of character or him.  I let him back inside and sat down at my desk to start studying for my Sociology test that night.  Kash walked over to me being antsy again, and whining.  I said “Bud, what do you need?”  I thought maybe he needed water, so I got up to get it for him.  His water bowl was full. 

Kash started whining again like he wanted me to follow him.  I said “what is it?”  He led me down to the basement, right to Joie.  He stated dancing around her very anxiously.  Almost like he was saying “Mom, something is wrong, FIX IT”.  I notice Joie’s paws were swollen to 3 times their normal size.  I tried to pick her up and she didn’t move. She didn’t have the strength to stand on her own.  I tried to carry her, but she was too heavy for me.  Kash was still dancing around her, begging me to help Joie. 

I picked her up and slowly moved up the stairs, one at a time.  Kash stayed in front of me and would turn around to make sure we were okay.  After about 10 minutes we made it to the landing.  I went to grab my phone to call someone to come help me.  I called Kevin who said that he would be right over.  At that moment, Tony called.  I begged him to come home, I knew that we needed to take Joie right in.  She was suffering.  I promised her in the beginning that if she promised to put up a good fight, that I wouldn’t let her suffer.  Truth be told, I wasn’t going to let her suffer anyway. 

While I was waiting for someone to come help me, Joie and I were sitting on the landing.  Kash stood perfectly still next to us.  He was facing the door, almost afraid to look at Joie.  Occasionally I would see him steal a peek at her.  Once Kevin and Jim got to the house, Kash ran to show them where we were. 

Kevin helped move Joie to the couch so she would be more comfortable.  The vet said that we could bring her in in about 2 hours, so the waiting game began.  I loved on Joie and talked to her.  I smiled at her and tried not to cry.  Kash sat down on the floor next to me right in front of her, with his back to her.  He as protecting her.  No one was going to get to her without going through him. 

And as he sat there, Joie reached out just enough to kiss him on his neck, as if to say “thanks for having my back, Buddy.”

Kash is very depressed right now.  I know he feels the loss, but we are going to love on him and spoil him a little bit to help him get through this.  Our family went from five to three in a matter of 48 hours.  We are all suffering. 

I am just so proud of Kash for taking care of his sister.

Leave a Reply

